A month after…

… getting out of the psychiatric ward.

My last post was about outsmarting the police and getting out of the ER but I never blogged what happened afterwards. I went to my counseling appointment on campus the next morning and was met by my psychiatrist as well as my counselor. Both were straigthforward and I was “voluntarily committed” to the psych ward. Different hospital, different experience (this time a good one!) but nevertheless a whole week on the psych ward!
What’s happened since then….. I was diagnosed with bipolar and have been on medication since then. First Depakote, now Lithium and Depakote. I don’t think that’s so bad but unfortunately my parents made it here and they are less than pleased with it. They think a bit of therapy will do the job just as well and that I should be taken off the meds ASAP. I don’t even think I am able to face the day without the mood stabilizers but oooookkayyyyy!
On Friday they have an appointment with my psychiatrist so she can tell them why I should be on meds and what bipolar disorder means. We’ll see how that goes. I’m too stressed right now to do anything but just hope that I can make it through until they are gone.

The week in the loony bin was as good as it can be under the circumstances. It was like a vacation because I didn’t have to worry about anything. But the rest… I was released and came back to an empty house, my two roommates having said they wouldn’t live with me anymore. So I moved out in four days, put everything into storage for a month and lived with a coworker for 20 days until my parents were around. When they were here we found a nice place for me to rent and I moved in there. But everything has been stressful, particularly having to finish up the semester, having to write papers and stuff. I was and am so tired of it. I can’t sleep well right now and my mood is constantly going up and down like a yo-yo. It used to be better and I hope that once my parents are gone and I can finally rest and relax that things will be better. I know I’m desperately craving time for myself!! Time to sit down, time to lay down, time to read, time to tan, just a lot of rest and nothing to do. I hope I can find that peace and quiet starting on May 20th. Only a couple more weeks…

I’m wearin thin again, too stressed to be of any use for anyone. But it will somehow, somehow, somehow be ok.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

